News & Press Releases


July 27, 2011

For Immediate Release

Lindsay Brock for Jump Media

MEDIA CONTACT: Tel: 518-586-6258


Jimmy Torano and Katina Top Open Jumpers at Vermont Summer Festival


Press Release Image, See Caption

"Jimmy Torano and Katina won the $5,000 Open Jumper Stake, on Wednesday, July 27, 2011 at the Vermont Summer Festival in East Dorset, Vermont."  Photo credit – David Mullinix Photography.   Photograph may be used one time only in relation to the above news item.  For high resolution photograph, please email Jennifer Ward at Starting Gate Communications.

East Dorset, Vermont — Following two days of rest and relaxation in the beautiful Green Mountains, horses and riders returned to the show grounds for the fourth week of competition at the Vermont Summer Festival in East Dorset, VT.  The six-week equestrian competition is running at Harold Beebe Farm from July 6 through August 14, 2011.

Jimmy Torano of Ft. Lauderdale, FL, was determined to win the $5,000 Open Jumper Stake, speeding around the course with Katina, owned by wife, Danielle.  Torano made sure that the judges knew that it was him riding the horse so that the points counted towards his place in the $10,000 Sir Ruly Inc. Open Jumper High Score Award standings.  Torano trails several riders in the current standings, including his wife, who won the $30,000 Otter Creek Grand Prix on Sunday, July 24.  Torano’s clear round to win the $5,000 Open Jumper Stake on Katina, as well as a seventh place finish on Winner, moved him up a few places on the leader board.

In the hunter rings, Abercrombie, a six-year-old grey Dutch Warmblood owned and ridden by Jeff Ayers of Sellersville, PA, dominated the competition in the Green Hunter division, winning every class that they contested.

French Kiss carried Brooke Baldwin-DeGrazia to a sweep of the Regular Working Hunter classes for owner Tina Furey of New Canaan, CT.  The seven-year-old Westphalian gelding has shown his prowess in the ring on numerous occasions, winning in several different divisions over the season.

Riders and their mounts are gearing up for major action in both the hunter and jumper rings during week four of the Vermont Summer Festival.  Hunter competitors are preparing for the $5,000 NEHJA 3’3” Hunter Derby, which will be contested on Thursday, while the jumpers are focused on the $10,000 Georgio Armani Open Welcome Stake, Presented by Manchester Designer Outlets.

Offering more than $750,000 in prize money, the Vermont Summer Festival is the richest sporting event based on purse in the state of Vermont.  The first five Sundays of the Vermont Summer Festival feature a $30,000 Grand Prix at 1 p.m., culminating with the $50,000 Vermont Summer Celebration Grand Prix on Sunday, August 14.  In addition to the $10,000 Open Welcome Stake, Presented by Manchester Designer Outlets, held each Friday, the weekly $10,000 Show Jumping Hall of Fame Junior/Amateur-Owner Classics are hotly contested. New for 2011, the Vermont Summer Festival will host a $5,000 Hunter Derby each Thursday five of the six weeks.

Competition begins at 8 a.m. daily, Wednesday through Sunday.  Admission is $5 for adults, $3 for children, Wednesday through Saturday.  On Grand Prix Sunday, admission is $7 for adults, $5 for children.  As always, 100 percent of the gate proceeds benefit the Friends Foundation for MEMS, (Manchester Elementary and Middle School).

For over 20 years, the Vermont Summer Festival has attracted exhibitors and their families to the Manchester region each summer.  Please e-mail us or visit our website for more information about the Vermont Summer Festival.

$10,000 SIR RULY INC. Open Jumper High Score Awards – Mid-Circuit Standings

1 Devin Ryan 134
2 Darragh Kenny 76
3 Michael Dorman 66
4 Danielle Torano 56
5 Amanda Flint 48
6 Caitlin Venezia 45
7 Darragh Kerins 44
8 Kaitlin Campbell 35
9 Teddy Demetriou 31
10 Megan Young 31
11 Jimmy Torano 30
12 Emily Pope 23
13 Chase Boggio 23
14 Samantha Schaefer 22
15 Judy Garofalo-Torres 21
16 Kimberly Mulligan 15
17 Janice Syphers 14
18 Jamal Jadidi 11
19 Mark Leone 10
20 Kathleen Mahoney 5
21 Kirk Webby 5
22 Sarah Wayda 2
23 James North 2
24 Juan Gallego 1



Previous      ###       Next